Community Health Needs

Mayo Regional Hospital is a 25-bed, critical access hospital located in Dover-Foxcroft, Maine. Dover-Foxcroft is located 37 miles northwest of Bangor and is the county seat for Piscataquis County, an area the size of the State of Connecticut with a population of just over 17,000. Hospital Administrative District #4, doing business as Mayo Reginal Hospital has a service area that covers most of Piscataquis County and parts of both Somerset and Penobscot Counties in Maine. As the majority of our service area is Piscataquis and Mayo Regional Hospital is the largest healthcare supplier in this county, that county will remain the area of focus.

Our Community Health Needs Assessment (CHNA) is part of the statewide collaborative that produces the Maine Shared CHNA. We are actively involved in this process by committee involvement, sharing information, and by providing community engagement support into the community events.  We will first review our CHNA plan that was developed based on the data from the reports with a focus on Piscataquis County, but including both Penobscot and Somerset Counties, which we are both in our service area.


To read the full Community Health Needs Assessment Action Plan:

The Mayo Regional Hospital facility provides what most would describe as “core critical access” services, including emergency care, inpatient care, obstetrics, swing bed services, special care, inpatient and outpatient rehabilitation, diagnostic radiology and laboratory, inpatient and outpatient surgery, and ancillary support services. Also on the main campus are several specialty practices, including Mayo Orthopedics, Mayo Women’s Health, Mayo Surgical Associates, Mayo Podiatry, Mayo ENT, Mayo Urology, and Mayo Oncology. The main base of Mayo’s EMS service is also located adjacent to the main campus with satellite locations in Dexter and Corinth.

Mayo Regional Hospital Rural Health Clinics are located throughout our region in Dover-Foxcroft, Milo, Dexter, and Corinth. They employ 17 primary care providers and see about 50,000 primary care visits per year. In addition, the hospital operates a Psychiatry and Counseling Center in Dover-Foxcroft which provides adult psychiatry, child psychiatry, substance abuse, and counseling services.


Mayo Regional Hospital is legally known as Hospital Administrative District No. 4 (H.A.D. #4). H.A.D. #4 was legally organized and formed by and through a Private and Special Act of the Maine Legislature in 1973 (Chapter 76 of the Private & Special Laws of 1973) and is owned by 12 towns and plantations located in Penobscot and Piscataquis Counties. These include Abbot, Bradford, Cambridge, Dexter, Dover-Foxcroft, Guilford, Milo, Monson, Parkman, Sangerville, Sebec, and Willimantic. Each community elects members to the Governing Board who serve 3-year terms. The Governing Board usually consists of between 16 and 19 members.